Dietary Fat – Love, Limit, or Lose? // Strawberry and Avocado Tostada

Did you know that your body needs fat? Dietary fats are essential for a healthy body. Fats give you energy, support cell growth, protect your organs, and keep your body warm. The trick to using fats in a healthy way is knowing which ones you should be eating. There are four major dietary fats:

  1. Saturated Fats
    • Meat
    • Poultry
    • Dairy Products
    • Coconut Oil
  2. Transfats
    • Hydrogenated oils
    • Tropical oils
  3. Monounsaturated Fats
    • Olive Oil
    • Canola Oil
    • Sesame Oil
  4. Polyunsaturated Fats
    • Fish (salmon, trout, herring)
    • Soybean oil
    • Sunflower Oil

You can read more about each type of fat by clicking here.

The American Heart Association makes it easy to understand by telling which fats to love, to limit, and to lose.

Fats that fall in the “Love It” category are part of a healthy eating plan. Even those in the “Limit It” category have a place in a healthy diet. However, all types of fat are high in calories. Just because a fat is good for you doesn’t mean you should eat as much of it as you want. All fats need to be used in moderation to stay within a healthy calorie limit. MyPlate can help you learn how to balance the amount of calories you eat, including fats, with the amount of calories you burn from physical activity. Click here to start learning!

Here’s a yummy recipe with avocados – a healthy fat.

Not only are avocados delicious, they fall in the “Love It” category. Healthy avocados mixed with other fruits and veggies is a great way to eat fats in a healthy way. Enjoy!

Candi Merritt

Certified Nutrition Education Ambassador

1 reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s